our government

Sao Tome has functioned under a multiparty system since 1990. The president of the republic is elected to a five-year term by direct universal suffrage and a secret ballot, and must gain an outright majority to be elected. The president may hold up to two consecutive terms.

Image description

Government type: Democratic Republic
Legal system: Based on Portuguese legal system and customary laws.
Suffrage: 18 years of age, universal
Executive branch: Chief of state: Manuel Pinto da Costa (since September 2011)
Head of government: Prime minister Gabriel Costa (since 10th of December 2012)
Elections: Held in 1st of August 2010 (legislatives)
Political parties: Christian Democratic Front (FDC), Democratic Opposition Coalition (CODO), Independent Democratic Action (ADI),
Movement for liberation of São Tomé and Príncipe Social Democratic Party (MLSTP-PSD), Party for Democratic Convergence (PCD) and other small parties.

Official websites for the Government can be found here and for the Parlament here (Note: The websites are in Portuguese)